Below is a list of composers currently represented on this Web site. Clicking on a composer's name will bring up a list of madrigals available to be downloaded. Three downloads are available for each madrigal: Score (in PDF format), MIDI (.mid) and Text/Translation (also in PDF).

All downloads are free of charge; however, you must register with the site in order to download Scores and Texts/Translations.

Note that, in the case of madrigals in multiple sections, the full Text/Translation may be downloaded from the entry for the first section (the prima parte).

Aleotti, Vittoria
Arcadelt, Jacques (Giaches)
Artusini, Antonio
Bellasio, Paolo
Bertani, Lelio
Caletti, Giovanni Battista
Califano, Giovanni Battista
Capilupi, Gemignano
Casentini, Marsilio
Cavaccio, Giovanni
Cifra, Antonio
Costa, Gasparo
Croce, Giovanni
D'India, Sigismondo
Dalla Casa, Girolamo
Del Mel, Rinaldo
Dentice, Fabrizio
Falcone, Achille
Felis, Stefano
Florio, Giorgio
Freddi, Amadio
Gabrieli, Giovanni
Gagliano, Marco da
Gastoldi, Giovanni Giacomo
Gastoldi, Quarto libro (1602) (complete)
Ghizzolo, Giovanni
Giovanelli, Ruggiero
Guami, Francesco
Guerini, Pietro Francesco
Ingegneri, MarcAntonio
Isnardi, Paolo
Leoni, Leone
Mancini, Curzio
Marenzio, Luca
Masnelli, Paolo
Massaino, Quarto libro (1594) (complete)
Massaino, Tiburzio
Mezzogorri, Giovanni Nicolò
Monteverdi, Claudio
Mosto, Giovanni Battista
Nodari, Giovanni Paolo, Madrigali a 5 (complete)
Pallavicino, Benedetto
Rognoni Taeggio, Francesco
Rore, Cipriano (De)
Rossetti, Stefano
Rossi, Salamone
Ruffolo, Lucrezio
Sabino, Ippolito
Stabile, Annibale
Taroni, Antonio
Tomasi, Biagio
Tresti, Flaminio
Usper (Spongia), Francesco
Various (from Dolci Affetti, 1582)
Various (from Trionfo di Musica, 1579)
Vecchi, Orazio
Verdonck, Cornelius
Wert, Giaches de
Wert, Il Decimo libro (1591) (complete)
Wert, Ottavo libro (1586) (complete)
Zanchi, Liberale
Zanotti, Camillo
Zoilo, Annibale

Massaino, Tiburzio

Log in to view Score and Translation. *Register
Check this box before downloading a file below.
Title and DescriptionScoreMidiTranslation
Mentre vaga Angioletta (prima parte of 3) (SSATTB)
Massaino’s highly expressive and technically challenging setting of a Guarini poem describing, in vivid detail, the nature of virtuoso singing and its effects upon the listener (see also Gastoldi’s “Dolce d’amor sirena,” Monteverdi’s “Non sono in queste rive” and Wert’s “Scherza nel canto”). "Mentre vaga Angioletta" is better known from Monteverdi’s setting, for two tenors and continuo, in his Eighth Book ("Madrigali guerrieri ed amorosi"). In Massaino’s version, the complexity and difficulty of execution increase progressively from the prima to the terza parte; some passages seem to anticipate baroque instrumental writing. A version a minor third lower is also available.
Tempra d'arguto suon (seconda parte) (SSATTB)
Or la sospende (terza parte) (SSATTB)
Riser le piagge (prima parte of 2) (SSATB)
A pastoral-themed madrigal with a twist: it is the nymph Filli who openly declares her passion (“I can suffer no longer, I burn for you”), leaving the protagonist overwhelmed and musing on what actually happened.
Non posso più soffrir (seconda parte) (SSATB)
Segue egli la vittoria (prima parte of 2) (SSTTB)
The text, from Tasso’s Gerusalemme liberata, is better known from Monteverdi’s more extended rendition in the Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda. Massaino’s setting focuses on the final moments of the single combat between the Christian warrior-hero Tancredi and Clorinda, a Saracen maiden with whom Tancredi has fallen in love. Not recognizing her in her armor, Tancredi slays her. Massaino’s setting is harmonically daring, with tonal excursions as far afield as B-major. The seconda parte is notable for the way in which it depicts, in the words “e gl’occhi a lagrimar,” Tancredi’s dawning realization of the magnitude of the horrendous, if inadvertent, deed that he has done. (For Tancredi’s subsequent travails, see also Monteverdi’s “Vivrò fra i miei tormenti” and the two settings of “Giunto alla tomba” by Wert and Marenzio.) A version a whole step lower is also available.
Amico, hai vinto (seconda parte) (SSTTB)

*You must register to download Scores and Texts/Translations


Copyright © 2014-2018 ~ Martin Morell