Below is a list of composers currently represented on this Web site. Clicking on a composer's name will bring up a list of madrigals available to be downloaded. Three downloads are available for each madrigal: Score (in PDF format), MIDI (.mid) and Text/Translation (also in PDF).

All downloads are free of charge; however, you must register with the site in order to download Scores and Texts/Translations.

Note that, in the case of madrigals in multiple sections, the full Text/Translation may be downloaded from the entry for the first section (the prima parte).

Aleotti, Vittoria
Arcadelt, Jacques (Giaches)
Artusini, Antonio
Bellasio, Paolo
Bertani, Lelio
Caletti, Giovanni Battista
Califano, Giovanni Battista
Capilupi, Gemignano
Casentini, Marsilio
Cavaccio, Giovanni
Cifra, Antonio
Costa, Gasparo
Croce, Giovanni
D'India, Sigismondo
Dalla Casa, Girolamo
Del Mel, Rinaldo
Dentice, Fabrizio
Falcone, Achille
Felis, Stefano
Florio, Giorgio
Freddi, Amadio
Gabrieli, Giovanni
Gagliano, Marco da
Gastoldi, Giovanni Giacomo
Gastoldi, Quarto libro (1602) (complete)
Ghizzolo, Giovanni
Giovanelli, Ruggiero
Guami, Francesco
Guerini, Pietro Francesco
Ingegneri, MarcAntonio
Isnardi, Paolo
Leoni, Leone
Mancini, Curzio
Marenzio, Luca
Masnelli, Paolo
Massaino, Quarto libro (1594) (complete)
Massaino, Tiburzio
Mezzogorri, Giovanni Nicolò
Monteverdi, Claudio
Mosto, Giovanni Battista
Nodari, Giovanni Paolo, Madrigali a 5 (complete)
Pallavicino, Benedetto
Rognoni Taeggio, Francesco
Rore, Cipriano (De)
Rossetti, Stefano
Rossi, Salamone
Ruffolo, Lucrezio
Sabino, Ippolito
Stabile, Annibale
Taroni, Antonio
Tomasi, Biagio
Tresti, Flaminio
Usper (Spongia), Francesco
Various (from Dolci Affetti, 1582)
Various (from Trionfo di Musica, 1579)
Vecchi, Orazio
Verdonck, Cornelius
Wert, Giaches de
Wert, Il Decimo libro (1591) (complete)
Wert, Ottavo libro (1586) (complete)
Zanchi, Liberale
Zanotti, Camillo
Zoilo, Annibale

Felis, Stefano

Log in to view Score and Translation. *Register
Check this box before downloading a file below.
Title and DescriptionScoreMidiTranslation
Infelici occhi miei (prima parte of 4) (SSATB)
A lachrymose and lugubrious, but compelling, cycle by a composer who was maestro di cappella at Bari Cathedral. The animation on the words "aver perpetuo riso" (to have perpetual laughter) in the terza parte provide a welcome bit of contrast.
Dunque mirando il sole (seconda parte) (SSATB)
Sperasti occhi dolenti (terza parte) (SSATB)
Deh piangete almen tanto (quarta parte) (SSATB)
Di vaghe fila d'oro (SSATB)
A sprightlier madrigal by Felis, notwithstanding the rather melancholy tone of the ending. The text provided the basis for an "Englished" version by Morley ("In nets of golden wires").
Voi sete bella ma fugace (SSATB) *NEW*
The underlying text is a four-stanza poem by Tasso, each stanza beginning with the words “Voi sete bella, ma ...” (you are beautiful, but ...). Felis (who had become maestro di cappella at Naples Cathedral) set each of the stanzas as a separate madrigal; in the original publication the four pieces are grouped together, but without an indication that they form a cycle. The poem was also set to music in its entirety by Cornelis Schuyt, while a portion was set by Marco da Gagliano. Further information is provided in the notes accompanying the texts/translations.
Voi sete bella ma sì dura (SSATB) *NEW*
Voi sete bella ma fallace (SSATB) *NEW*
Voi sete bella ma sdegnosa (SSATB) *NEW*

*You must register to download Scores and Texts/Translations


Copyright © 2014-2018 ~ Martin Morell